An Immigrant Hitting It Big in the U.S

I work in marketing and product management which I’ve been doing for about 9 years. I started in this field after graduating with my MBA from an ‘Ivy League’ college. I’m not originally from this country, but moved here to go to B-school. Right now I work for a startup and before this I worked at two large companies, with the last one I was with them for about 6 years.

What can I say about my work and my job? Well, I’m not sure if this is true for other people, but working in the “high tech” space I can tell you that I have been able to slack off for most of my nine years and yet still pull in a six figure salary. I’m not sure if this is normal and I wonder sometimes what the hell is going on?

I usually start my work days at 9am to 9:30am. I take about 1 to 1.5 hours for lunch and then get home before 7pm. I spend a lot of time on the Internet and I enjoy talking with people around the office. I do work of course, but it is not as hard as I feel I should be doing.

Sometimes I’m curious to know what my classmates are doing to see how I “stack up” in terms of title or position in my career. I can say that I am not a “director” or a “venture capitalist” as some of my classmates have become, but I wonder if they are close to being a millionaire like me? You see, I realize that it is difficult to make money so what I’ve done is save as much as possible in my 401k and stock savings plan. Having married last year, my wife is doing the same. I don’t have a large mortgage and have no other debt so thus far financially things are good.

I found a great way to see how well I’m doing compared to other people. Here in Massachusetts I look up people’s mortgages and home equity online, through the registry of deeds. I do this at work sometimes when I’m bored. It’s funny how many people I’ve found act like they are well off but are in debt up to their eyeballs.

Well that is my description of my job so far … I should do a little work before going home.